Astrology, the 27 Nakshatras (Stars) and the Moon

  • Home
  • Blog
  • Astrology, the 27 Nakshatras (Stars) and the Moon

Astrology, the 27 Nakshatras (Stars) and the Moon


Of recent, and especially during Gandhi’s time when the British ruled over India, a sort of brainwashing of the modern Hindu mind had taken place. This has led to the erroneous thinking that somehow the ancient and modern Vedic culture, having its roots in universal cosmology and the heavens, are only religiously influenced stories and myths. Misunderstanding and the concomitant lack of interest in the true nature of spirit has been the result; especially for those influenced by Western culture. This is a symptom of the gradual degradation of Kali Yuga, so it is not surprising. However, if we dive deep into spiritual practices of yoga, meditation and bhakti, by hearing from the great gurus, modern and of yore, we will discover the so-called myths of India are not only stories, but based in reality itself.

Knowledge of Astrology, Nakshatras, and the Moon are an important part of this understanding. We would not be able to collect and imbibe such high information from only myths and other inert sources. The source of the cosmos and the entities that design, maintain and control it are living and breathing, nurtured by its truths. And so, as astrologers, are we. As a result, we are able to gather very important knowledge from astrology regarding our spirit and it sojourn throughout time. With this knowledge and some faith in the system, we can begin to understand the reality of the Universe.

There have been few, nevertheless important, ancient astrological systems that use the Moon and the stars as guidance. They were not only developed by the Hindus but by the Babylonians, Persians, and Egyptians as well. Since no one, thousands of years ago, possessed the technology or telescopes to examine the heavens, these cultures used only their eyes and sometimes specially constructed observational sites, plus any geometric principles known at the time. The famous Greek mathematician and astrologer, Claudius Ptolemy (100AD) was the first scientist to begin to seriously study optics, but no telescopes existed until around the year 1600.

Before this time, the heavens and stars were observed mainly at night. On a clear night, one could see and observe the planets and Moon as they appeared to move away from each other to different parts of the sky. The stars, though, as part of the constellations, stayed relatively fixed in space. It could be observed over at least a century of time that some stars do change positions relative to the earth’s precession. The Sun could only be observed during the day from sunrise to sunset across the ecliptic.

Although the Sun is obviously an extremely important luminary, the night-time sky held the majority of the secrets in the development of astrology (and astronomy), indicated by the Nakshatras. The mythology of the stars from many cultures was either attached to or garnered from the constellations of our Milky Way Galaxy. Not only were the Signs of the Zodiac imposed on the constellations by the Greeks, but many thousands of years before that, the Vedic culture of India had its Nakshatra stars also.

There are 27 Nakshatras, and 9 Lords of the Zodiac understood as Grahas. Out of the gate, this gives us a combination of 243 variations of influences. Any one of the 9 planets in the chart can occupy a Nakshatra position. Many times a Graha will conjoin with another in the same Nakshatra so this variation adds on to the analysis. We also need to understand the natal chart and use it as a primary source for our interpretation. However, an astrologer who has mastered the basics can put all of the pieces of the puzzle together and should be able to weave together the story of each individual chart. At the same time it is not so easy. Just like a seasoned dancer who daily practices the basics to warm up, we must, as astrologers, continue our study of the basics. In any case, astrologers need to continually study and research. Many of these basic principles can be found in my course Western Vedic Astrology, Part I, The Planets as a Source of Spiritual Understanding. (FREE on You Tube – SirDavesTube/playlists)

In this course we will take an excursion deep within our solar system as we explore the psycho-spiritual facets of astrology along with the North and South Nodes of the Moon, (Rahu and Ketu). Then we dive deeper yet, and make our way to the outer limits of our galaxy, within the constellations, to the homes of the Gods and Goddesses, where the Grahas, themselves, acquire their astro-knowledge. This allows us get to the root cause and solutions of existence and how that affects everything in our lives and well as the lives of those who we share and have shared our life with.


Source by Deva Roberts